Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Adam Johnson's Fortune Smiles is the 12th Winner of The Story Prize

Adam Johnson, winner of The Story Prize
(photo © Beowulf Sheehan)
We're pleased to announce that Adam Johnson's Fortune Smiles, published by Random House, is the winner of The Story Prize for books published in 2015. Johnson becomes the first author ever to win the National Book Award for fiction and The Story Prize for the same book—and he's also the first author to have won The Story Prize, the Pulitzer prize, and the National Book Award. He won the National Book Award for Fortune Smiles in November 2015, and the Pulitzer in 2013 for his novel, The Orphan Master's Son.

The other finalists—winners of numerous awards themselves—were authors Charles Baxter for There’s Something I Want You to Do (Pantheon) and Colum McCann for Thirteen Ways of Looking (Random House). At the event at The New School, all three finalists read from and discussed their work on-stage. As runners-up, Baxter and McCann each received $5,000.

In the days and weeks to come, we'll post the judges' citations for the three books, photos from the event and after party, and a link to the video.