Thursday, January 17, 2019

Half Gods by Akil Kumarasamy Is the Winner of The Story Prize Spotlight Award

Beyond naming three finalists each January, we also present The Story Prize Spotlight Award to a collection of exceptional merit. Selected books can be promising works by first-time authors, collections in alternative formats, or works that demonstrate an unusual perspective on the writer's craft. The award includes a prize of $1,000. 

We're pleased to announce that the winner for books published in 2018 is Half Gods by Akil Kumarasamy (Farrar, Straus and Giroux), a collection of ten stories set in the U.S. and Sri Lanka that center around a family that has a foot in each world. Although the book references the epic Hindu text the Mahabharata, these beautifully written and shaped stories are firmly grounded in the details of Kumarasamy's characters' everyday lives

This is the seventh time we've given out The Story Prize Spotlight Award. The six previous winners are: Drifting House by Krys Lee, Byzantium by Ben Stroud, Praying Drunk by Kyle MinorKilling and Dying by Adrian TomineHim, Me, Muhammad Ali by Randa Jarrarand Subcortical by Lee Conell. 

Congratulations to Akil Kumarasamy and Farrar, Straus and Giroux for winning The Story Prize Spotlight Award for short story collections published in 2018.

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

The Story Prize Finalists: Jamel Brinkley, Deborah Eisenberg, and Lauren Groff!

We're pleased to honor as finalists for The Story Prize three outstanding books published in 2018, chosen from 108 entries representing 79 different publishers or imprints. The finalists are:

  • Florida by Lauren Groff (Riverhead Books)
A Lucky Man by Jamel Brinkley explores complex family bonds and the inescapable consequences of choices made and avoided. The incisive stories in Deborah Eisenberg's Your Duck Is My Duck capture both the gravity and the absurdity of our current predicament. Florida by Lauren Groff uses the Sunshine State as a point of departure, shining a light on the menaces her characters perceive to be lurking in the shadows.

This year's judges—author Jo Ann Beard, Washington Post book critic Walton Muyumba, and bookseller Veronica Santiago Liu—will decide the outcome.

The annual award event will take place at the New School’s Auditorium at 66 West 12 Street in New York City at 7:30 p.m. on Wed., March 6. Tickets cost $14. That night, Brinkley, Eisenberg, and Groff will read from and discuss their work on-stage. At the end of the event, Julie Lindsey will announce the winner and present that author with $20,000 along with an engraved silver bowl. The two runners-up will each receive $5,000. The Creative Writing Program at The New School co-sponsors the event.

In the weeks ahead, we'll announce this year's winner of The Story Prize Spotlight Award. We'll also publish an index of guest posts from 2018 authors and a long list of other exceptional collections we read last year.