Thursday, January 18, 2018

Subcortical by Lee Conell—This Year's Winner of The Story Prize Spotlight Award

Beyond naming three finalists each January, we also present The Story Prize Spotlight Award to a collection of exceptional merit. Selected books can be promising works by first-time authors, collections in alternative formats, or works that demonstrate an unusual perspective on the writer's craft. The winner receives a prize of $1,000.

We're pleased to announce that the winner for books published in 2017 is Subcortical by Lee Conell (Johns Hopkins University Press), a collection of sixteen incisive, distinctive, and superbly crafted stories—a skillful and self-assured debut collection. One of the pleasures of reading for The Story Prize is discovering books like Subcortical. 

Author Lee Conell, winner of
The Story Prize Spotlight Award
This is the sixth time we've given out The Story Prize Spotlight Award. The five previous winners are: Drifting House by Krys Lee, Byzantium by Ben Stroud, Praying Drunk by Kyle MinorKilling and Dying by Adrian Tomine, and Him, Me, Muhammad Ali by Randa Jarrar

Congratulations to Lee Conell and John Hopkins University Press for winning The Story Prize Spotlight Award for short story collections published in 2017.