Tuesday, January 9, 2024

Presenting the 20th Trio of Finalists for The Story Prize: Yiyun Li, Bennett Sims, and Paul Yoon

Now in its 20th year, The Story Prize is pleased to honor as its finalists three outstanding short story collections chosen from 113 submissions representing 84 different publishers or imprints. The range of story collections published in 2022 was broad and the quality was high, and it was difficult to narrow the list down to three books, as it usually is. 

This year's finalists are: 

 Wednesday's Child by Yiyun Li (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

 Other Minds and Other Strories by Bennett Sims (Two Dollar Radio)

 The Hive and the Honey by Paul Yoon (Marysue Rucci Books)

Yiyun Li was also a finalist in 2011. We will announce the winner of The Story Prize on the evening of Tuesday, March 26, at a private event featuring readings by and interviews with finalists Li, Sims, and Yoon, as well as the announcement of the winner and acceptance of the $20,000 top prize and the engraved silver bowl that goes with it. The runners-up will each receive $5,000. We plan to live-stream the event starting at 7:30 p.m. and will post a link before then and a video the next day. 

Story Prize Founder Julie Lindsey and Director Larry Dark selected the finalists. Three independent judges will determine the winner:

  • Critic and author Merve Emre;
  • Librarian Allison Escoto; and
  • Writer Tania James

In the weeks ahead, we'll announce this year's winner of The Story Prize Spotlight Award. We'll also publish a long list of other exceptional collections we read last year and information on how to watch the event. And you can find a list of the story collections we received in 2023 on Bookshop.org.