Tuesday, October 20, 2015

The 2015 Story Prize Judges: Anthony Doerr, Rita Meade, and Kathryn Schulz

The 2015 judges for The Story Prize are: Author Anthony Doerr, Brooklyn librarian Rita Meade, and New Yorker staff writer Kathryn Schulz. Since its inception, we have included judges from a variety of fields associated with short fiction. Past participants have included writers, editors, booksellers, librarians, critics, journalists, and academics.

Each judge's task is to read the three books we choose as finalists and choose one as the winner. We'll announce the three finalists in January. And we'll announce the winnner—based on the votes of the judges—at our annual event at The New School, on March 2, 2016, this time around.

More about the judges:
Anthony Doerr won the 2010 Story Prize for his collection, Memory Wall. He also won the Pulitzer Prize for his novel All the Light We Cannot See, among his many other honors and awards.

Rita Meade is a public library manager in Brooklyn. She's a contributing editor and Dear Book Nerd podcast host for Book Riot. She also occasionally blogs about library-related topics, and even less occasionally sings in a librarian band.

Kathryn Schulz is a staff writer at The New Yorker. She is the former book critic for New York Magazine and the author of Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error. She was the 2012 recipient of the National Book Critic Circle's Nona Balakian Prize and a 2004 recipient of the Pew Fellowship in International Journalism.