Thursday, October 23, 2014

Meet The Story Prize Judges: Arsen Kashkashian, Noreen Tomassi, and Laura van den Berg

We're pleased to announce our judges for 2014: Arsen Kashkashian, bookseller at the Boulder Book Store in Colorado; Noreen Tomassi, Executive Director of The Center for Fiction in New York; and award-winning author Laura van den Berg. They will choose the winner of The Story Prize from among the three books we choose as finalists. This is our eleventh slate of judges and, since our inception, we have included participants from a variety of fields associated with short fiction: writers, editors, booksellers, librarians, critics, journalists, and academics.

We also have a firm date for The Story Prize event, at which we'll announce the winner that Arsen, Noreen, and Laura will choose: March 4, 2015, at the auditorium at The New School. As always, the event is open to the public. We'll have more information when we announce our three finalists in January.